how to help balance oily skin: Cetaphil Oily Skin Cleanser

Cetaphil Oily Skin Cleanser is pretty well known. I wanted to review this product on Beaubrun Beauty, as I personally have oily skin. I have also noticed that darker skin can be prone to oilyness. That’s not to say that all people with dark skintones have oily skin, just that through my own personal experience and people that I know (my sister, friends, family) have had similar skin issues as me.

I have tried many, cleansers starting from when I was a teenager with affordable brands such as Biore, Neutrogena, St. Ives and Garnier to name a few. As I got older I found that these brands are great to start with when it comes to oil control, however my skin is a bit more complicated than that (sigh). For me, it’s not as simple as using something to take away the oil because this not only removes the oil, but strips my skin of all moisture leaving it oily yet dry at the same time… yes I know confusing. I started to use products that offer a little more, most importantly, products that could offer my skin balance – a little oil (not too much!) but also maintaining moisture and hydration is very important for my skin. I generally use two different cleansers – one for when my skin is ridiculously oily (I find this is sometimes hormonal) and Cetaphil for when my skin is slightly more balanced. When I say balanced, I mean oily in the t-zone area but normal on the cheek and chin area.

I had heard people raving about the Cetaphil cleansers for a while and honestly I thought, “erm I really dont think that’s going to work for my skin”. I will admit that I don’t think I would be able to use the Cetaphil Oily Skin Cleanser alone – I do need something that will seriously clean my skin at certain times of the month when my skin is particularly crazy, or if I am wearing heavier makeup – however Cetaphil is exceptionally good.

If you have combination to moderately oily skin, this cleanser works a treat. For me, it works amazingly well when my skin is moderately oily:

  • It is gentle (so important, because it is very tempting to try to scrub the face clean if you have oily skin. This only damages the skin and can encourage it to produce even more oil!)
  • It works! It really does help to balance my skin, so that it reduces the amount of oil on my face throughout the day
  • It does not over-dry my skin – some ares of my face are not oily at all, I find that after washing my face with this cleanser, it does not feel tight or dry
  • Leaves my skin very, very soft – I use mine with a Clarisonic Plus
  • It’s soap free and recommended by dermatologists
  • Non-comedogenic (won’t block pores)
  • It is very reasonably priced
  • Also comes in a “gentle” option

This is a lovely cleanser for combination and oily skin. It rises to the challenge and performs amazingly well. What’s your skintype? What is your daily skincare routine? Comment below and let me know!

Channel

Leave a Reply

