review: Graftobian HD Glamour Crème Foundation

After much debate, I decided to go all out and purchase a full palette of Graftobian foundation. I have read and heard good things about the product, and decided it worthwhile to buy the full palette in order for me to test as many shades as possible to find my correct shade.

The palette I have is the Graftobian HD Glamour Crème Foundation Super Palette – Warm. There is also a “Cool” option in the range. The foundation is housed in a sleek black palette with a really, really nice large clear mirror. There are 18 shades in the warm palette, I don’t need to mention absolutely amazing for those of us with darker skin who struggle to find the perfect foundation shade (I’m in heaven!)

The foundation is medium to full coverage, perfect for me as I have blemish marks to cover! I like to use foundations with at least a medium coverage as it allows me the flexibility to either apply lightly and sheer it out; applying all over my face to even out my skin on days (when frankly I cant be bothered!) or take advantage of the high coverage for a more flawless look. The Graftobian palette allows me to to do all of this and more.

Now, we know that there are many, many ways to apply foundation, however this palette really does offer a world of possibilities, I’ll go through how I like to use it…

All Over Foundation – as mentioned I have blemish marks from previous breakouts and a slight bit of hyper pigmentation. I experiment mixing the shades in the palette – starting in the middle of my face which tends to be lighter and more yellow toned, working my way outwards with a mix of slightly warmer shades. I find the very yellow shade in the palette “Caramel” to be helpful when disguising dark marks. I like to apply with a moistened flat foundation brush and finish using a damp make up sponge to blend out any edges

Spot Coverage sometimes, I really want my foundation done as quickly and fuss free as possible. On those days I will use the foundation to almost spot conceal any marks on my face using a flat foundation brush and clean fingers to blend. As with many cream products the warmth of hands helps to blend the product

Conceal I also like to use some of the lighter shades in the palette almost like a concealer either over the top of another foundation or under my eyes.

It’s worth noting that this foundation can achieve very high coverage, therefore it can be quite thick. I have found the following tools pair well with the Graftobian foundation:

  • A flat foundation brush
  • Facial spritz/fixing spray
  • Moist make up sponge
  • Clean hands!

I’ve also learned though using the Graftobian foundation that blending is essential! I start out with a small amount of product then add and blend to the coverage I want. The product lasts a reasonable amount of time on my skin approximately 6 hours when my skin is exceptionally oily and 8-10 hours when my skin is more balanced. Although the consistency of the product is thick, I think it’s a matter of getting used to using it and treating it accordingly. For example I always use water… whether its a moist makeup sponge or a facial spritz or fixing spay, the “wet” element really helps to work with the product.

I will say that if you have exceptionally dry skin, this product may not work for you. I may have mentioned once or twice (ha!) that I have very oily skin, so I feel that the Graftobian foundation is suited to my needs. But by no means is this foundation suitable only for oily skin. It’s simply a matter of finding the best way to use it depending on your needs.

The shade range in the palette is awesome, however like me, it may take a little time and practice to get the right mix of shades for you, but that is what’s great about having 18 shades at your fingertips. I find that darker skin tends to have more than one shade which is another reason I really like this palette.

The finer details:

  • The foundation sets slightly – to a matte finish
  • It does have a subtle “clay” like smell to it
  • Claims HD results in front of the camera (yet to be tested by myself!)

To sum it up:

Overall, I really like this foundation. It’s one of those products that has so much potential to be used in different ways. I have been using it for about 2 months and I am enjoying it, and feel like I learn something new every time I use it. The coverage, finish, quality & longevity is excellent. I would love to see some tutorials or tips on how to mix and blend the shades. Have you tried any Graftobian products? If not, what are your favourite long wearing or multi taking products? Let me know in the comments below…

Channel

7 thoughts on “review: Graftobian HD Glamour Crème Foundation

    • Hi there!

      The Graftobian lasts pretty well in extreme heat. I live in Melbourne and wore it last week at a festival, temp was around 28 C and very humid – it lasted pretty well. It will of course depend on your skin type (mine is oily therefore most foundations do not last as long on me). I’ve also tried the foundation during summer 30 – 35 C and it lasts very well too, I find that setting it with a powder and also using a setting spray does the job and gets me though an 8 hr day with a little blotting. Hope this helps!

      Channel

  1. Thanks,for helpful review.
    I want to know that from where i shuld purchase graftobian foundation pallet at lowest price in india

    • Hi there!
      Sorry, not sure where you would find this in India, I’m based in Australia. Best bet would be to do a Google search for your nearest stockist, or online retailer. Glad you enjoyed the review – good luck!

      Channel

  2. Hi ~
    Just wondering where you got this set from? =)
    I am trying to find out where I can buy the product and I found your blog lol
    I am based in Melbourne as well and try to avoid buy it online because I am not sure which colour I should get. Thank you for the review =)

Leave a Reply

