review: NP Set Eyeshadow Duo by Napoleon Perdis

The NP Eyeshadow Duos are available in six sets all named after Caribbean Islands; Antigua, Barbados, Martinique, Saint Barts, Saint Croix and Saint Lucia. I saw this in Target and was immediately attracted to the neutral toned eyshadows of the Saint Lucia set. One of my favourite ways to use eyeshadow is to create a neutral toned eye look using colours close to my skin tone – and because I can’t help myself, adding a dash of colour with bright eyeliner, or eyeshadow. I was also looking for a nice shimmer free brown eyeshadow to use as a blending colour, so this was perfect!

Primer

No Primer

Pros:

  • Both shades are a gorgeous silky texture, they feel like butter and blend just as easily
  • Comes with 2 shades of shadow that complement each other nicely
  • Secure yet attractive packaging – comes in plastic wrapping, plastic box AND even has a plastic wrapper over the top of the lid
  • More affordable than the regular Napoleon Perdis range
  • Staying power is excellent (I use mine with an eyeshadow primer)
  • Contains natural Argan which claims to moisturise and protect the skin; it is also talc and paraben free
  • The brown in the Saint Lucia palette although very close to my skin colour is lovely. It can be used all over the lid to to create a nice even colour for when you don’t want to wear too much make up, or can be used as a transition colour to blend away any harsh lines on a more colourful look.

Brown shade worn over primer

Cons:

  • I use mine over a base to help it stay all day without creasing or fading, however I noticed that these shadows don’t stay as perfect on the lid as other matte/silky eyeshadows I have tried. I attribute this to the moisturising properties, which may break down a little easier than a regular matte formula
  • Because of the silky texture, some loose eyeshadow can sometimes fall down onto the face as you apply. This is very minor, and can be reduced if using a good brush
  • It would be great to see some brighter colours in the sets. I love colour- and to represent the Caribbean Islands I think it would be great if one or two of the sets contained a nice vibrant teal or green.

To sum it up, this a great set, the standout feature being that delightful texture – so easy to work with!

Have you used any of the NP sets? How did they fare on your skin tone? How do you apply it? I’d love to hear about what you think – comment below and let me know!

Channel

Leave a Reply

