review: Clinique Anti Blemish Solutions Liquid Makeup

An old staple in my makeup collection, I thought it was about time for a review of this foundation…

The Clinique Anti Blemish Solutions Liquid Makeup claims to be: “lightweight for oily or blemish-prone skin that needs smooth coverage and skin-clearing treatment benefits. The oil-free foundation, conceals, controls breakouts, neutralizes the appearance of redness and helps prevent future blemishes while providing moderate coverage and a natural finish that never looks chalky and is soothing to the skin.”

lightweight for oily or blemish-prone skin that needs smooth coverage and skin-clearing treatment benefits
The foundation is indeed very lightweight and liquid-y in consistency. Depending on your preference this may be a pro or con. I personally love that the foundation is thinner, even though I like a lot of coverage, I don’t like a thick, heavy, rich product on my face.

Oil-free foundation, conceals, controls breakouts, neutralizes the appearance of redness and helps prevent future blemishes
Oil free is definitely a must have in a foundation for me. Although the consistency is thin in consistency, it conceals about 80% of my blemishes and takes away slight redness I have at times. I will say that when working with the foundation I like to work on one section of my face at a time as the foundation dries very, very quickly! I have a quick tip for this though, keep reading to find out how I use it! I will also say that I have not noticed this foundation controlling my breakouts at all. Perhaps by its very nature (matte finish, oil free) it is suited to my skin type and doesn’t aggravate any existing blemishes that I have, however I have not noticed an actual improvement of my skin when using it.

…while providing moderate coverage and a natural finish that never looks chalky and is soothing to the skin
The foundation does provide moderate coverage when applied in a thin layer, and absolutely can be built up to full coverage and dries to a matte finish. I will say that if you have drier skin or if you are using the foundation alone (i.e no primer or other product to help work it into the skin), the foundation can actually appear a little chalky. Having read a few reviews on this foundation I think that this is where people may benefit from using a base product on the skin before applying.

I own the shade 07 Fresh Golden. The shade range is pretty decent, and looks like it will cater to a wide range of skin tones, with perhaps the exception of super fair, super dark skin or those with a very yellow tones to their skin. I find the shade pretty bang on close to my actual skin tone; and think that other shades in the range would easily accommodate Asian and Indian skin tones and also darker skin tones similar to mine – Caribbean, Aboriginal and some African skin tones) The packaging is nice, I really like the simple design and the easy to use nozzle which dispenses the right amount of product. I find that you can control how much you want quite easily. I have used this foundation for over 2 years and I really, really love this product. The foundation does almost exactly what it claims to do and works perfectly with my oily skin type. I think the key with this particular foundation is your skin type and how you apply it. When my skin is going through I super oily phase I like to mix and match certain products that help the longevity of my foundation. These include a face spritz, a make up setting spray, setting powder, primer, oil & blemish control facial cleanser/toner/moisturiser. I also find that layering these products depending on oiliness works a treat too… So for day-to-day wear, here’s how I use it:

Prepare

1. Carefully cleanse & moisturise. Allow your moisturiser to sink into the skin for around 5-10 minutes (depending on your skin type, do what suits you!) Also, choose the type of cleanser/moisturiser you need to suit what your skin is asking for on that particular day. Even if your skin is oily, be gentle with it!

2. On a particularly oily day I will mist my face with an oil control setting spray, if my face seems moderate I will skip this step

3. Primer – I use a smoothing primer on areas of my face that need attention i.e around my nose to reduce visibility of pores and on my chin area where my skin is drier

Apply

1. As the foundation dries pretty quickly, I work quickly. I start on one half of my face dotting foundation on my cheek and chin area. I like to put the foundation where I actually need it – sounds like a no brainer, but it helps me to avoid completely smothering my face with product where it’s not needed!

2. Mist the foundation half of my face and my foundation brush with a facial spritz. I use a spritz which is basically just rose water and a couple of other ingredients. This part is key for me. It stops the foundation drying as quickly and allow me to blend the product into my face flawlessly

3. Blend my foundation in a dabbing motion on areas that need more coverage, and buff around the hairline to ensure it looks natural

Repeat on the other half of my face, adding another thin layer if necessary.

To Finish

1. I sparingly add concealer underneath my eyes and to any particularly stubborn areas, and allow the concealer to set

2.  The next key part is to set the foundation. I use a loose translucent powder with a tint and dust over my face with a fluffy powder brush. If my face is super oily I will use a powder puff to press the powder into my skin and dust of the excess with my powder brush. At this stage I will either use the oil control setting spray or facial spritz to bring the life back into my face and prevent the makeup from looking super powdery.

3. Voila, finished!

What I love about this foundation routine is that it really does keep my makeup til the end of the day. I have tested this during a 40 degree Melbourne summer, and it still holds up very well. Overall, I LOVE this foundation, it is my perfect go – to everyday foundation and works great on my skin. Foundation junkie here says: Favourite Foundation Of All Time (so far!!)

If you’re still with me and haven’t fallen into a hazy comatose foundation induced state, leave a comment below! If you’d like to know which products I use in conjunction with my foundation routine, give me a message and let me know (this review is long enough already!) Let me know which foundation you use and what your routine is – whatever your skin type or tone, I’d love to hear from you!

Channel x

8 thoughts on “review: Clinique Anti Blemish Solutions Liquid Makeup

  1. The most thorough foundation review I have ever read! I liked it. I’ve been wondering if Clinique shades really suited brown skins so thanks. Nice hair by the way!

    • Thanks so much! It’s always tricky to find reviews with lots of info specifically for darker skin tones. Clinique do have a reasonable range for darker skin. In the packaging the shades are completely off, so definitely worth getting shade matched. Glad you enjoyed, love your blog too stumbled on it by accident on twitter 🙂

  2. Hi 🙂
    it’s Tania from Facebook. I was the one who messaged you about finding a decent variety of foundation for darker skin tones in Australia. I’m pretty chuffed at having made a new discovery – Lancome Teint Miracle in shade 12 that I found at Myers. It doesn’t get any darker than that though but this shade suits my brown complexion. It feels good on my skin and quite lightweight which is nice seeing as i’m not a heavy makeup person. It also has a very natural, kind of dewy look but i’ve yet to see exactly how long it stays on. The con is that it cost $68 😦

    • Hey Tania

      Ahh, I have heard that Teint Miracle is supposed to be very good, but I haven’t tried it. It sounds lovely, I may need something a bit more matte though as I have oily skin. Wow, $68 is very steep. I actually think that the Teint Miracle is produced in a few more deep shades, however they are only available in the US 😐 Just not good enough in my opinion. How does the foundation last on you skin?

      Channel x

      • You are correct. Teint Miracle is produced in more shades and i figured that because i’ve been watching youtube reviews. Not good enough Australia 😦
        I tried it again and it lasts about 5-6 hours. I have combination skin leaning towards oily and i found that after 4 hours, my skin got shiny. I applied only one layer. I guess it has light to medium coverage and according to reviews, is buildable. I think i might have to use it a few more times to see if i really like it.

  3. Oh and just a side note and a small request. I noticed the tags – could you maybe add Melanesian skin to your tags as well? (I’m melanesian 😀 )

    • Of course, no problem 🙂 Let me know if I can include anyone else too. Which of the Melanesian islands are you from? I must admit, I had not heard of Melanesia, it looks beautiful 🙂 It looks a little like St Lucia (where my parents are from)

      Channel x

      • Thank you and yes Melanesia is quite beautiful 🙂 . I’m from Papua New Guinea. I’ve seen pictures of St Lucia and that’s stunning too. Reminded me of home 😀

Leave a Reply

