Battle of the Balms

In my search for a lovely lip balm that will nurture my lips – sooth and protect from the elements and offer a nice healthy sheen I purchased 3 balms over the last year which I thought were up to the challenge

This Healthy Care Australia, Paw Paw balm caught my eye because of its all natural claims with no petrochemicals. It contains papaya extract, shea butter and macadamia & jojoba oil. The thing that caught my eye was the multi use nature of the product – it can be used in various ways including on the hands, lips, heels and body. After using the product a couple of times, I knew I didn’t like it…

Scent: The product is supposed to smell like Paw Paw. Although initially it kind of does smell fruity, I’m not sure it particularly smells like paw paw, and there is a weird lingering plastic-y smell I really don’t like.

Texture: As the product is made of largely of oil, it tends to harden in colder weather (which I don’t mind) the problem comes when the weather is warmer, or if it is stored somewhere warm. The product melts and separates into an oily mess which feels terribly greasy on the lips and hands.

Effectiveness: The product doesn’t soften or moisturise my lips, it’s almost like using baby oil – it just sits on top of the skin and doesn’t absorb.

Appearance: As I’ve mentioned, because of it’s oily texture the product ends up looking overly shiny and oily on the lips (not very attractive!)

My next choice after the Paw Paw balm was to try something a little more traditional, so I went for the Burt’s Bees Sun Protecting Lip Balm with Passionfruit:

The Burt’s Bees balm is passionfruit scented with SPF8 sun protection that claims to be “Moisturizing & Nourishing” – perfect! Or is it?

Scent: A fruity scent – again not sure it’s very passionfruit-y but it’s pleasant and not too overpowering.

Texture: Oh dear. Thick, heavy and sits on top of my lips. It does absorb, but takes ages!

Effectiveness: A tad more mosturising than the Paw Paw balm..but not by much.

Appearance: Probably the worst thing about this balm is the white cast it leaves on my lips – seriously not attractive. I’m sure this has something to do with the SPF in the product *yes – contains 3.99% titanium dioxide* but there must be way to combine sun protection without the white ashy effect on those of us with darker skin or pigmented lips?

Ok, third time’s the charm right?

Still keeping to the traditional stick lip balm, I decided to try the Yes To Carrots conditioning lip butter with SPF15 in Pomegranate. Nice! Paraben free, hydrates, conditions, soothes and protects. The word “butter” had me thinking a nice smooth balm – rich but not too heavy which would disguise any white cast the SPF may give. Right? Nope.

Scent: Sorry to go on – light and fruity – not offensive, but not getting much pomegranate…

Texture: *As above* pretty much the same formula as the Burt’s Bees – slightly softer and a teeny bit easier to apply to the lips.

Appearance: Yep, you guessed it – leaves a white ashy look to my lips. This one contains 6.5% zinc oxide as it’s sun protection.

And some swatches – the SPF balms look almost purple in sunlight!?

Left to Right: Paw Paw Balm, Yes To Carrots, Burt’s Bees

So.. major fail x3 for me! Guys, let me know which are your favourite lip balms – I’m in serious need of some recommendations…! Have you tried any of the above mentioned lip balms? I’d love to hear how they work for you, or if they work for you! Let me know in the comments…

Channel x

2 thoughts on “Battle of the Balms

Leave a Reply

