Queen Helene Mint Julep Masque: Good for oily skin?

As I mentioned on my beauty stash post in July, the Queen Helene Mint Julep Masque was a bit of a spur of the moment – last minute – might as well give it a try purchase. I had been looking for a face mask to help balance my oily skin, and this looked like a great one to try. The Mint Julep Masque is supposed to help “dry up acne pimples, rinse away blackheads & shrink enlarged pores” The masque appealed to me because it is also suitable for other skin types meaning it would still be suitable to use on my skin when it decides to be less oily.

How I use it:

I have been using the Mint Julep Masque for a little over a month – depending on my skin’s needs I like to apply it twice a week (sometimes only to very oily areas of my face). The directions instruct to apply the masque to clean skin, so I go about my usual cleansing routine before using the masque. I then mop away any excess water from my face leaving it damp, then generously apply the masque to my face and neck. The masque feels cool and tingly once applied to the skin (that would be the peppermint in action!) which I love. It feels very refreshing and cooling – and smells like real fresh mint. I think this would be great for the summer months if you find that your skin becomes more oily & congested during hotter weather. I leave the masque on until it dries – this usually takes around 15 minutes. As the masque dries it becomes hard and well…like a mask!  As you can see below, the darker patches are areas that have not yet dried. Once completely dry, I use damp cotton wool to remove the majority of the product then I switch to a damp face cloth to remove the rest.

Just before I rinse off the masque, I do notice certain areas that look like they have absorbed some excess oil, especially around my nose and forehead (excuse the green monster face) Once rinsed off my skin feels exceptionally clean and fresh. I notice that my skin looks a little more vibrant and the pores around my nose are initially a bit less visible.

Look, it’s working!

Overall

I like this masque a lot – more than I was expecting. I thought it would just be a plain old clay style mask – which it is, but the extra addition of peppermint really does make the difference. I like the tingly fresh feeling you get once applied, and once washed off, my skin is left feeling very refreshed, clean and soft. I am glad I have introduced this to my skincare routine. It gives my skin a much needed boost every so often and I look forward to using it in the summer months. I paid around $3.80 for this from iHerb, so if you are looking for a mask to help with balancing oily skin, this may be worth a try. Have you tried this or any other clay style mask? Tell me in ze comments!

Channel x

Leave a Reply

