review: Mizani Supreme Oil

Mizani Supreme Oil is described as

“99% naturally-derived formula with 8 natural oils (sesame, jojoba, almond, avocado, apricot, olive fruit, sunflower and argan oils) that is silicone, mineral oil and paraben-free. Designed for any hair type, this ultra-light treatment penetrates and absorbs to treat and smooth the hair, so it is not greasy unlike silicones and mineral oil that only lay on the hair’s surface. Experience a truly exquisite treatment with an ultra-luxe velvety touch.” 

Supreme Oil comes in a 4.1fl oz (122ml) bottle- a really decent amount. I have had mine for around 6-8 months and I am not even halfway through it yet.

How I use it

I purchased the Supreme Oil to add shine, moisture and smoothness after washing my hair. I also wanted something that would actually penetrate my hair – not just sit on the surface. I like to use 3-4 drops of the oil on damp hair after I have shampooed & conditioned. I rub about 3 drops throughout my hair from roots to ends then use the last drop on my hairline being careful to massage it in.

I also like to use the oil on dry hair either just before I style it to add shine and moisture for the day or before I go to bed concentrating on my hairline to soften & add strength. I also sometimes use the oil on dry skin (elbows, knees) and it’s also great in the summer to give your legs a lovely sheen (just remember your SPF!) The product’s description says that it can be used for:

– Blow-drying or finishing.
– Pre-shampoo treatment.
– Moisturising scalp oil.
– Daily leave-in conditioner.
– To condition locks, braids and natural hair extensions.
– Total body moisturiser.

I really love this product. It is a joy to use there really are so many ways to use it. The oil is extremely light weight, it initially looks and feels like a light oil, but once it is distributed is absorbed very easily by both the hair and skin and is not at all greasy.

Who can use it?

I think that the product would benefit all hair types; I would recommend it to those with loose to tightly curled hair and of course those with thick hair, course hair, afro hair or relaxed hair. I reckon the oil would even work for super fine hair – you would just need very little of it!

Scent

As with every single Mizani product I have used it smells amazing! I am one of those people who prefer a light fragrance to my beauty products, so this is just right for me. What I also like is that the Supreme Oil smells of what it contains, no artificial smelling fragrances and nothing added that smells too heavy over the top. Another lovely thing to add is that as mentioned it contains so many beautiful enriching oils, my fav being avocado oil. The fact that it doesn’t contain silicone or mineral oil means we get more of the good stuff!

Effectiveness

-For my relaxed hair it:

-Adds shine

-Adds strength & moisture

-Softens my hair

-Adds a lovely glossy sheen

Overall, this is a great addition to my hair routine. It’s a very useful all rounder that adds that extra something to make the hair look more polished whilst enriching the hair. Have you tried the Mizani Supreme Oil or any others like it? I have been looking at trying Moroccan Oil next but I am not sure if it will be as effective on my hair. Let me know in the comments!

Channel x

Leave a Reply

