review: Lancome Teint Idole Ultra 24H

The Lancome Teint Idole Ultra 24H foundation as the name suggests is a long wearing product. It claims to be retouch free and provide a flawless looking, velvety smooth, shine free finish. Right up my street!

Packaging

I’m not too much of a sucker for packaging, usually my main focus (especially with foundation) is the battle to find my shade, and match myself correctly! I will say that the Lancome Teint Idole Ultra packaging is beautiful. It comes packaged in a silver box, the container itself made of sturdy glass. The shape of the bottle is slim, and I love with the matte finish of the bottle. The bottle comes with a handy pump, which dispenses a nice amount of product keeping the bottle clean, hygienic and easy to use.

Shade #10 & #12

Texture & Fragrance

The texture is much like an average liquid foundation, but slightly lighter with perhaps a gel like feel to it. The fragrance I will say has to be the strongest most floral scented foundation I have ever come across. It is floral and sweet smelling and soooo strong! I really don’t know what Lancome were thinking, adding a floral fragrance to foundation is bad enough, but the scent is so overpowering. The good news is that once the foundation sets and settles the fragrance pretty much disappears after 15 minutes!

Application

I tried various ways to apply; clean fingers, buffing brush, flat top brush and makeup sponge. Depending on which you feel comfortable using, I think that all three application methods work well. My personal favourite way to apply the Lancome foundation is first to dab a little of the product onto my face and then use my Sigma Flat Kabuki brush (F80) to pat and blend. This allows me to get more coverage whilst using minimal product. I also like to slightly dampen my brush with a face mist to help with blending.

Shade match & range

I purchased two shades: #10 Beige Praline and #12 Ambre from eChemist for around $35 (awesome website which does not charge tax for Australian customers) and free delivery! I am a little confused as to how many shades Lancome provide in Australia…I don’t think there is a Lancome Australia website, and having looked at Myer & David Jones websites, I could not find this particular foundation at all. Maybe they are sold in store? If so, please let us know in the comments! I will say that the shade range for Lancome foundations on the eChemist website is great, absolutely brilliant if you are looking for a darker shade (you will find shades 13, 14 and 15 too.)

I find shade #10 Praline to be the best match for me at the moment. Buffed into my skin, it looks incredibly natural. Shade #12 is slightly deeper and warmer therefore I think will be a better shade for me in the summer. The two shades I purchased contain SPF5, a little low considering the fairer shades contain SPF15. Although understandable as SPF ingredients can make darker foundations look grey or ashy on the skin. I would suggest using an SPF moisturiser underneath this foundation to ensure you are protected from the sun (no matter what your skin tone is) I usually go for SPF50.

Lancome Teint Idole Ultra 24H – Shade #10 Praline

Lancome Teint Idole Ultra 24H – Shade #12 Ambre

Coverage & Finish

Depending on your preference, a very small amount can be used for light coverage, however I find the foundation to be easily buildable to medium / medium full coverage. This will depend on your skin – as I have blemish marks to cover, I can achieve excellent medium coverage. My favourite thing about the Teint Idole is the finish. It is glorious! As claimed is does set to a velvety finish, and I can honestly say it is the most natural looking liquid foundation I have ever tried. Even with just one layer on my face and no other makeup, I was very surprised at how much coverage I got and most importantly how smooth and natural it looked. I could see no tide marks and no unevenness of the product once it had set.

Lancome foundation in shade #10 applied all over with a Sigma Flat Kabuki brush (F80) – no concealer or other products:

Lancome foundation in shade #12 applied all over with a damp makeup sponge – no concealer or other products:

As you can see, using a dense foundation brush provides much more coverage than a make up sponge & a more flawless finish. Also, shade #12 is too dark for me and also has warm/red undertones whereas shade #10 matches me perfectly and has yellow undertones.

Longevity

The Teint Idole provides a great balance between longevity and natural finish. The foundation lasts a full 8-10 hour day on me. I do get oil break through during the day, but would say I only need to blot once, and no touch ups are needed at all. I can definitely see me needing to blot more regularly with this foundation during summer, however this is a given with my oily skin type! I don’t find that the foundation comes off or wears away, and it stays natural and even throughout the day. I think the foundation would work great on normal and combination skin types too as the texture is not overly drying and is not completely matte.

Overall

I am very impressed at the shade range for the Teint Idole Ultra foundation particularly from such a large cosmetics company. However a bit of consistency between countries would be ideal. In the US you are looking at 28 shades, the UK 18 and approximately 12 shades in Australia. I am fully aware that due to just plain demographics, certain shades are going to be more popular in other countries, however to simply not stock or release shades for darker skin tones in certain countries is really not good enough. If fact sometimes, it almost feels like you don’t exist. I would love to see a fragrance free option and consistency of shades everywhere. Super impressed, Lancome please spread the love and provide full shades ranges to all countries!

Have you tried the Lancome Teint Idole Ultra and what did you think? How do you apply it and how does it wear on you? As always, I am really interested in your thoughts anyone and everyone of any skin type or tone, let me know what you think in the comments!

Channel x

2 thoughts on “review: Lancome Teint Idole Ultra 24H

Leave a Reply

