Senegalese Twists

I’m currently in limbo regarding my hair. To relax or not relax, to go natural or to plait? I finally decided that my hair needed a break from relaxers and during the summer would be a great time to get a protective style. I decided on Senegalese twists as an alternative to plaits – I have previously sported long box braids, and wanted something different this time. I have been also searching high and low for a good salon in Melbourne near to where I live who were able to look after my hair type, and I was lucky enough to happen upon a little place called Zab Hair Salon in Croydon. I popped in a few weeks ago to check it out, and was greeted wonderfully by the lovely Sue, who talked me through my options…

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Sue and Niagara

Zeb Hair Salon in Croydon

Zab Hair Salon in Croydon, Melbourne

I am really loving my new twists, they’re done beautifully by Niagara – (please let me know if I mis-spelled this!), and well worth the 6-7 hours they took to complete!

IMG_0887

IMG_0886

IMG_0882

Zab is a Beaubrun Beauty approved and recommended salon that caters to afro/black hair in Melbourne. They also do human hair extensions (mine are synthetic), cornrows and sell hair & beauty products & are great for extensions & braids for European hair and everyone in between.

I’d love to hear what you think. Don’t hold back! Add to the information & resources for beauty, hair & skincare for those with dark skin in Australia.  Which hair salons are your favourites in Melbourne? Do you have any recommendations for braids, extensions, relaxers, cut or colour? Let me know in the comments, or you can of course tweet me @beaubrunbeauty, send me a message on Facebook, or check out my pictures on Instagram #beaubrunbeauty. Til next time…

Channel x

2 thoughts on “Senegalese Twists

Leave a Reply

