my first bronzer: Guerlain Terracotta Bronzer

Yes, you heard me right! I have never used or purchased a bronzer in my life. This being a make up blog, I thought it was about time! After a good bit of research, I decided on purchasing the Guerlain Terracotta Bronzer. Lets be honest, this bronzer is not cheap by any means so after tonnes of research I decided to ask my lovely sister (as always!) to nab me one from London.

It’s recommended to use a colour around 2 shades deeper than your skin tone to achieve a decent contour, so I chose the deepest shade available – Ebony 08.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAOLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

The product is encased in a brown tortice shell compact with the name embossed on the front and a decent sized mirror. As with all Guerlain products, the packing is simply beautiful. I knew this would be the case – I own only one other Guerlain product and that too is designed perfectly.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAOLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

The range comes in 8 shades, at first I wasn’t convinced that shade 08 was dark enough to provide a good enough contour, but after using it a few times I found it worked great with my skin tone. The colour is certainly not the darkest I have ever seen but there is something about the texture that allows the colour to blend seamlessly into the skin making it look defined yet natural, perfect for a newbie ๐Ÿ™‚

The product also contains shimmer. Usually a matte texture is the most effective for a contour, however the shimmer is incredibly fine and subtle and I find actually works well on a darker skin tone, it sort of adds a bronze sheen and enhances a deep skin tone.

One thing I noticed immediately was the fragrance, a light floral smell – not too overpowering I think most women wouldn’t mind the smell. I do however tend to have a problem with fragranced face products, particularly high-end ones. It just feels like just another thing that may react badly on the skin which the product could do without.

The formula of the bronzer is described as “moisturising and long-lasting”. I am impressed with the longevity of the product, it lasts a full day on my oily skin and even though the formula is moisturising, isn’t at all shiny or oily looking.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

As I mentioned, I am a novice to contouring and bronzer so I wanted a product which would ease me into the technique, and something that would not look too harsh or fake looking.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

S’cuse the concentration face, I was trying to get a good angle to show off the contour!

Overall, I am very impressed with the Guerlain Terracotta Bronzer. Guerlain is one of the few brands that lives up to its name and price, but lets face it a huge portion of the price is paying for the name and packaging. This is the type of product I like to splurge on because I know I will personally get a lot of distance from it; I don’t use bronzer every day and it’s not a product that I feel I need multiples of. This is probably the only one I’m going to need and will last me ages. That being said if you prefer a very strong contour, this probably isn’t the one for you, its subtle and natural.

Let me know what you think in the comments! What is your favourite bronzer or contour? Do you contour every day or save it for a dramatic look? You can also tweet me @beaubrunbeauty, send me a message on Facebook, or check out my pictures on Instagram #beaubrunbeauty. Til next timeโ€ฆ

Channel x

6 thoughts on “my first bronzer: Guerlain Terracotta Bronzer

  1. Really lovely shade, in the compact and on your skin.
    I love bronzers but in moderation- I used to use one as a blush and it looked like someone pinched me hard on the cheeks, lol! I contour everyday for work but it took about a year to get the method and tools right for my skin. FOA do a nice loose bronzer but I’m all about pressed bronzer atm so Benefit Hoola is my go-to ๐Ÿ˜€

    • Thanks! Which tools do you use to apply? I’ve been using a Real Techniques contour brush but feel like I need something fluffier to make sure it’s blended well. You’re right, I feel like its so easy to go over board so I’m easing myself in!! ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. I use an angled kabuki by Sigma to apply the contour (f84) and then a large fluffy powder brush by Sedona Lace (980) or the same style by Furless to blend out the bronzer. The powder brushes are way fluffy but dense enough to blend out although I prefer the SL ‘cos it’s on a shorter handle and I don’t smash the mirror with it, lol!

  3. You look stunning and it absolutely brings out the contours of your face. You have gorgeous cheeks and bone structure. Absolutely wonderful review. I love the makeup. Thank you.

Leave a Reply

