SuzieBeauty Cosmetics

It’s been a long time coming, but I have finally gotten round to reviewing my Suzie Beauty goodies. It’s the first time I have been asked to try out sample products, and I was very excited to do so! Suzie Beauty is a cosmetics brand created by Suzie Wokabi, the products are aimed at women with darker skin tones, are sold online and I believe throughout Africa including Nairobi and Mombasa to name a few.

The first product I tried was the Liquid Foundation

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I tried the shade SB20 above which is a good 2-3 shades too light for me so I wasn’t able to try it alone, however I did give it a try mixed in with a few other foundations I own which are too dark for me. The first thing I noticed was it’s staying power. It certainly lives up to it’s claims as a long stay, waterproof full coverage product, perfect for those with very oily skin. If you live in a hot, humid climate this foundation will stay on your skin without budging – it really does last. The consistency is more liquid-y than your usual foundation (which I prefer), the finish is matte – very matte – not so suitable for a dry skin type, but may be a great foundation to use when you are on holiday for that extra staying power. The shade range is very good with 9 shades available from a medium/light pink toned shade to a very, very deep mahogany. I love that there is a decent variety of deeper shades, so there is room to experiment and mix to give a good chance of finding the perfect match.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Liquid Foundation in SB20

Next, I tried the Pot Concealer in two of the seven shades

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Capuccino is a light/medium toned brown with a little yellow to it. The product is described as full coverage and non-drying.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Pot Concealer – Cappucino

Capuccino for me, was a good highlighting shade. Great to add a brightening effect underneath the eyes or tops of the cheeks for a more natural highlight. The consistency is reasonably thick, but smooth to apply and the finish particularly under the eyes was very good – smooth without any creasing. As with most concealers of this kind not much is needed to achieve good coverage, so don’t over do it- otherwise you will definitely experience creasing!

I found that the Pot Concealer provided me with very good medium coverage, but if I were to use this on any dark marks on my face, I think I would need a bit more coverage.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Pot Concealer – Cappucino

The next shade, Mocha is a similar shade to Capuccino, but a little more red toned

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Pot Concealer – Mocha

Mocha is a better shade match for me, better for use on my face instead of under the eyes. In summer, I think I would need one shade darker

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Pot Concealer in Mocha – love the smooth finish

The next item I tried and my favourite of the bunch is the Loose Powder in the shade SB40

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

The Loose Powder comes in 5 shades with an additional translucent powder with no colour. The shade SB40 was a great match for me, I found it evened out my skin without adding too much colour and best of all the finely milled texture meant it did not add a dry looking cakey-ness to my skin. It finished off my face adding a smooth polished look to my makeup.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Loose Powder SB40

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Loose Powder SB40

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Loose Powder SB40

The Loose Powder blends very well into the skin

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Eyeshadow in Maziwa

Lastly, I tried 2 of the Eyeshadows. The first shade Maziwa is a frosty silvery highlight shade.

Just out of personal preference, I’m not a fan of frosty eyeshadows, I’m don’t they compliment my skin-tone, however the shade Maziwa can be used as a good eyebrow highlight or in the inner corner of the eye to brighten your look.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Eyeshadow in Maziwa

Last but not least is Eyeshadow in Flamingo

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Eyeshadow in Flamingo

My favourite of the two eyeshadow shades, Flamingo is a sheer peachy coral which I found great all over the lid as a nice everyday shade. Although not extremely pigmented, added a little dimension to the lid. The texture is silky smooth and blends very easily.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Eyeshadow in Flamingo

It’s fantastic to see a brand focussed on producing make up for darker skin tones. Overall, a great brand with great shades and decent variety. Has anyone tried SuzieBeauty? What are your thoughts? I’d love to hear what you think in the comments!

Channel x

Leave a Reply

